The Association

ATHEA’s History

In the past, the most intensive contacts between Austrian researchers took place for the most part at international conferences. A comprehensive (national) networking opportunity in Austria did not exist. There was also a lack of a collective contact for international scientific associations, such as the IHEA (International Health Economics Association). Out of this came the idea to found a corresponding scientific association in Austria. The implementation took place with the entry of the ATHEA into the registry of associations on 14.11.2012.


The highest organ of the ATHEA is the General Assembly with currently more than 80 members. The board consists of the chairperson, the deputy chairperson, the treasurer and the secretary.

In 2015, the Board was supplemented by an extended Board of Directors to allow for wider geographic and institutional representation.

Auditors supervise the proper management of the association.


Dr. Thomas Czypionka
Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS) 

Dr. Monika Riedel
Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS)

Dr. Markus Kraus
Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS)

Ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Margit Sommersguter-Reichmann
University of Graz

Extended Board

FH-Prof. Dr. Florian Buchner, MPH
University of Applied Sciences Kärnten

Ass.-Prof. Dr. Susanne Mayer
Medical University of Vienna

O. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gerald Pruckner
Johannes Kepler University Linz


Ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Marion Rauner
University of Vienna

Dr. Sabine Vogler
Austrian Public Health Institute (GÖG)

Upcoming Events

  • Keine Veranstaltungen